Might Mitch

Might Mitch

Sokai Tai best forward

Sokai Tai best forward

Queanbeyan Whites half back Mitch Douch bagged three trophies at the club’s presentation night receiving the Ben Mansell Memorial Shield for the most promising player, the first grade best back and the players’ player awards.

The slightly built Douch has been included in the ACT Griffins and the Act under 20’s on the back of his impressive season.

More than 170 people attended the glamour event at the Hellenic Club which featured a presentation by the Whites’ first Wallaby Peter Ryan. Ryan presented his highest point scorer trophy to colt’s player Riley Ahern.

The major trophy winners were: Chris Barbaro (most consistent), Jeremy “Slipper” Taylor (best club person), Tangi Maine (the Pat Matthews Medal for outstanding character), Tom G. Darmody (sportsmanship), Dan Penca (higher achievement), Phill Hawke (president’s trophy).

The player, who is recognised as the toughest player in the John I. Dent Cup, Tai Valeni, took out first grade best and fairest, the equally scary Sokai Tai best forward with the most improved award going to Neori Nadruku.

First grade most consistent was shared between a work horse, Toby Wilson, and an x-factor player, Keith Morgan. Wilson from Gabben Gullen plays like a farmer with a paddock to prepare while Morgan has the ability to beat any opposition and has during the season embarrassed a few Brumbies.

The other grade winners were:

Second grade: Best and fairest Ryan Jones, best back David Kerr, best forward Jake Gordon, most improved Tyron Dargue, players’ player Ryan Jones and most consistent Josh Townsend.

Colts: Best and fairest Jeremy Taylor, best back Ben Darmody, best forward Lewis Bozzato, most improved Sam McGlone, players’ player Lewis Bozzato and most consistent Euan McKillop.

Third grade: Best and fairest Dan Hawke, best back Fraser Kemp, best forward Andrew Lindsay, most improved Jonno Murphy, most consistent Daniel Jancevski and players’ player Dan Hawke.

Fourth grade: Best and fairest Luke Cochrane, best back Tom Luic, best forward Matt Gibbons, most improved Jason Stanton and most consistent Mitch Callagher.

No Comments

Post A Comment