Southwell Smiles

Southwell Smiles

Premiership winning coach Glen Christini left Queanbeyan to enjoy the takeaway town of Erindale leaving Wayne Southwell to take up the first-grade coaching position after making a great contribution as assistant coach.

In 2010, the season ended in all smiles for Southwell with a John I. Dent cup win over Tuggers 30-28, the same score of 2019 when the Whites were beaten on the bell.

Half Nic White kicked the winning penalty as time ticked over in 2010. Robbie Coleman was named man of the match.

The chainsaw was banned so the Queanbeyan supporters had to resort to blowing the horns.

It was a good year with the colts winning their premiership over Gungahlin 37-0 and reserve grade falling at the end to Wests 25-24.

Both Nic White and Robbie Coleman were signed by the Brumbies for the 2011 season with both playing Australian Under 20’s at the Junior World Cup.

Lewis Holland began his representative career with selection in the Australian Schoolboys.

Another highlight of the season was Matt Hirst’s 150 first grade game. Unfortunately, Robbie Beath missed the grand final with injury.

First grade: Chris Barbaro, Nik Murray, Steve Taylor, Matt Hirst, Tim Macnamara, Jeremy Dowling, Tom Moulds, Dan Penca, Nic White, Robbie Coleman, Josh Goodall, Villi Longi, Tyler Stevens, Lachlan Freeth, Jamie Marmont with Southwell assisted by Ipolito Fenukitau.

Reserve grade: Jack Brims, Pat Toumou, Adam Hastings, Tim Godfrey, John southern, Matt Sillis, Cameron Stanley, Paul Calgaro, James Maher, Tim Hawke, Luke Matthews, Sam French, Andy Ginn, Ryan Kinnane .

Colts: Sam White, Adam Kennedy, Joe Vress, Matt Maloney, David Beath, Ben Boyton, David Kerr, John Fields, Alex Rowley, Jacob Kara, Jake Holland, Ateilte Apineru, James Dean, Luke Cochrane, Brendan Spears with Glen Stumbles coach and Josh Hastings the assistant.

No Comments

Post A Comment